About the Blanket

As you know, there is more to making the blanket than just what you see in the project photos. Here is some “behind the scenes” stuff, so to speak.

Here is the box I keep it in:

I had to move up from a smaller box, haha.

The main method I use to make the designs is called intarsia. It’s where you knit the different colored objects in blocks. That doesn’t seem to make much sense, but it means that I don’t cut the yarn off every time I knit part of a design. I also used the fair isle method for the bricks and a few other things. I’m not really sure how to explain that, so look it up

I use 32″ size 10 1/2 circular needles.
It is approximately 260 stitches wide.

The way I separate the yarn off for each section is by creating H shaped pieces of cardboard and wrapping it around them. They make things you can buy for that, but I’m cheap. Below is a picture of the different colors of yarn I used on the H thingies.
(I’m going to abbreviate Red Heart Super Saver as RHSS)

Colors:

A. Bernat Super Value Harvest Colors: Redwood Heather (Bricks, ? block)
B. RHSS Cherry Red (Mario, Mushroom, Spiky Turtle Guy)
C. RHSS Light Coral (Cloud Guy, Turtle, Mushroom Stem, Mario)
D. RHSS Pumpkin (Mushroom)
E. Caron One Pound Sunflower (Mario’s Buttons, Coin)
F. RHSS Spring Green (Cloud Guy, Turtle, Dark Green in Pipe)
G. Peaches and Creme Bright Lime (Light Green in pipe, Bushes)
H. RHSS Delft Blue (or something like that) [background]
I. RHSS Coffee (Mario)
J. Lion Brand Vanna’s Choice: Black (Coin, Cloud and Pipe outlines, bricks, ? Block)
K.  RHSS Buff (Top line in Bricks, coin, ? Block)
L. Caron Simply Soft Black (Border)

Leave a Reply

